Aug 8, 2020 - Pregnant teachers, look no further! While I was “off” with my new baby, it got me thinking about everything involved when taking maternity leave while teaching. Date: 15.12.2018. A Wood Dale, Illinois teacher said her request to use sick time for maternity leave after the birth of her daughter was denied because of summer break. Remember, no teacher earns any money over the summer break. The exception to this is the introduction of Keeping In Touch (KIT) days, which allow women to work for up to 10 days without bringing their maternity leave to an end or losing SMP or MA. I have also created a free checklist for those of you who would like it. As things stand now, teachers who give birth just before or during the holidays “lose” their maternity leave entitlement, or part of it, as this is incorporated into their summer vacation. My name is Kinza, I’m a Maths Teacher – currently working as Director of Maths at a school in Gloucestershire. I had my first baby in 2016 and being due on the first day of the summer holidays was particularly frustrated that I would be paid less than my colleagues for the ... and unlike all other professions we do not accrue paid holiday to take at the end of our maternity leave. 7. Regular office hours will resume January 4, 2021. Write a letter to your students (to be given to them sometime during your leave) to maintain connection. The MFAP program provides short-term counselling services to all teachers on continuing, temporary or replacement contracts. However, since August 12, 2018, a Working While on Claim (WWC) pilot project is in place which changes the way earnings you receive while on claim affect your weekly EI benefits. Paid maternity leave lasts for up to twenty-six weeks. The CLA also contains a clause about concurrence of holiday leave and maternity leave (prenatal and postnatal). Planning for Remote Learning . {Please note that these are just my opinions–hope they help! So, I put together this list of TOP 10 T